West Indies T20 World Cup 2022 Squad: No Place For Russell

The West Indies have announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. Evin Lewis has been selected for the team for the first time since the event in the UAE in 2021.

The squad also has two uncapped players, Yannic Cariah and Raymon Reifer. However, seasoned T20-star players Andre Russell and Sunil Narine do not have a spot in this squad.

Cariah, who is 30 years old and plays cricket for Trinidad & Tobago and the Trinbago Knight Riders, made his One-Day International (ODI) debut just a month ago. On the other hand, Reifer, who is currently 31 years old and is the son of a former West Indies captain, Floyd Reifer, has already played for the West Indies in both tests and one-day internationals, and he made his international debut all the way back in 2017.

Nicholas Pooran leads the squad, while Rovman Powell has been named his deputy.

“We have selected a mixture of youth and experience to represent the West Indies,” said Desmond Haynes, CWI’s Lead Selector. “In the selection process, we have been cognizant of the ongoing CPL, and we have been looking at the players who have been playing very well.”

“I said at the beginning of my tenure that I would be interested in giving players the opportunity, and I think I have been consistent in doing that. I believe it is a very good team we have selected, and it is a team that will compete, given that we have to qualify from Round 1 into the Super 12.

“There are players who did not make the team, and I hope they will continue to work hard and perform to their best in the CPL and the upcoming CG United Super50 Cup because you never know what can happen in case of injuries or any other unforeseen situations where we might need to call up players as replacements.”

The West Indies will play Scotland, Zimbabwe, and Ireland in the first round in Australia for a spot in the Super 12.

West Indies T20 World Cup Squad

Nicholas Pooran (c), Rovman Powell, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Raymon Reifer, Odean Smith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.