UAE Announces Squad For T20 World Cup, Drops Rohan Mustafa

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has announced their 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup. However, their most experienced player, Rohan Mustafa, has been dropped.

Mustafa wasn’t picked for the UAE team that will go to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which will be led by CP Rizwan. The 33-year-old veteran was on UAE’s team as recently as a month ago but wasn’t picked for the Asia Cup qualifying games in Oman.

Aayan Khan, an uncapped all-rounder just 16, has found a spot in the team. Aayan made a name for himself earlier this year in the U19 World Cup by shining with 93 runs and 1-13 wickets in the UAE’s 82-run victory against West Indies.

In addition to Vishnu Sukumaran, Adithya Shetty, and Sanchit Sharma, Sultan Ahmad and Fahad Nawaz, who were members of the Asia Cup Qualifier squad, will join the team as traveling reserves.

Robin Singh, both the Director of Cricket and the Head Coach of the National Teams, said, “This squad has a strong representation of experience and youth.” It must be emphasized that UAE Cricket’s youngsters have continued to show their worth at various successful ICC and Asian Cricket (age-group) campaigns, and it is their time to showcase these proven talents to the cricketing world alongside those (selected) experienced players.

“To represent your country is of great pride, and our (coaching) team has complete belief in the maturity and skills of this group of players, and we expect them to surprise a few teams with their performances.”

The UAE is in Group A for the T20 World Cup. On October 16, they will play their first game in Australia against the Netherlands. The other two teams in their group are Sri Lanka and Namibia.

UAE Squad For T20 World Cup 2022

CP Rizwan (C), Vriitya Aravind (VC), Chirag Suri, Muhammad Waseem, Basil Hameed, Aryan Lakra, Zawar Farid, Kashif Daud, Karthik Meiyappan, Ahmed Raza, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddique, Sabir Ali, Alishan Sharafu, and Aayan Khan.

Traveling Reserves

Sultan Ahmed, Fahad Nawaz, Vishnu Sukumaran, Adithya Shetty, Sanchit Sharma.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.