Scotland Announced Squad for Icc Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Scotland has announced their 15-man squad for next month’s ICC Twenty20 World Cup in Australia, which will be led by Richie Berrington.

The squad also includes uncapped all-rounder Brandon McMullen, who impressed with both bat and ball in the regional series and A team matches. The pace-bowling combo of Brad Wheal and Josh Davey, who were not included in the white-ball series against New Zealand in July, has been recalled to the 15-man squad again.

Pace bowlers Gavin Main, Ali Evans, and Adrian Neill, as well as batsmen Chris McBridge and Oliver Hairs, who were all part of that home series, have been omitted.

The head coach of the Scotland men’s team, Shane Burger, said, “It was encouraging to see other younger players perform well under pressure, and I have no doubt that their chances will arise in the near future. We have more than 40 names on the table to choose from, which shows that the system is growing talent and giving the senior men’s team options. “

Richie Berrington, George Munsey, Matt Cross, and Calum MacLeod, all of whom have significant batting experience, will be responsible for leading Scotland’s batting attack. Mark Watt, Safyann Sharif, Hamza Tahir, Brad Wheal, and Josh Davey will be among Scotland’s bowling options.

“We are very pleased and excited to announce our 15 players for the T20 World Cup. We have selected 15 that we believe will make the desired impact we are looking for.

“For those players who are not going to the World Cup, we look forward to seeing them challenging for international honours in years to come,” Shane Burger stated.

“The squad has a blend of youth and experience, alongside locally based players and county representatives. The balance of the team and chemistry is crucial to contributing to performances at the World Cup. We believe we have a good mix of the above and have selected players that are in form and can perform under pressure. “

Scotland’s first match will be on October 17 at Bellerive Oval in Hobart against the Caribbean, followed by matches against Ireland and Zimbabwe at the same venue.

Scotland Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

Richard Berrington (C), George Munsey, Michael Leask, Bradley Wheal, Chris Sole, Chris Greaves, Safyaan Sharif, Josh Davey, Matthew Cross, Calum MacLeod, Hamza Tahir, Mark Watt, Brandon McMullen, Michael Jones, Craig Wallace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.