Pakistan Announced T20 World Cup Squad: Fakhar Zaman Misses Out

Pakistan named their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, but Fakhar Zaman missed out due to a knee injury. On the other hand, Shan Masood, who has not yet participated in a Twenty20 International, has been selected for the tournament.

As a result of Masood’s strong performance in the Twenty20 Blast in England, he has been given his first chance to participate in T20Is. He has represented Pakistan in both one-day internationals and tests. The last time he played for Pakistan in a Test was in 2021. However, Fakhar was selected as one of the travelling reserves alongside Mohammad Haris and Shahnawaz Dahani.

The star bowler, Shaheen Shah Afridi, is set to make his comeback from injury at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. Afridi missed the Asia Cup after the medical team advised him to rest for 4-6 weeks following a ligament injury to his right knee. In July, he sustained an injury while fielding in the first Test against Sri Lanka in Galle.

“We have a team that can perform strongly in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. That’s why we have shown faith and confidence in almost the same set of players who were part of the T20I squad post the 2021 World Cup in the UAE,” chief selector Mohammad Wasim said.

“These players have performed well since November 2021, and that’s why we have won nine out of our last 13 T20Is. We have invested in these cricketers, and it is fair to them that they get the opportunity to show their mettle in the World Cup, an event for which they have been preparing and training hard.

“We needed to ensure continuity and support to these players, and that’s precisely what we have done. We are receiving encouraging reports about Shaheen Shah Afridi, who is likely to resume bowling early next month.”

Pakistan will play its first game at the World Cup against India at the MCG on October 23. They will also play against New Zealand, Afghanistan, and two qualifiers during the group stage. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals.

Pakistan Squad ForT20 World Cup 2022

Babar Azam (C), Shadab Khan (VC), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir

Travelling Reserves

Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.