Namibia Squad For ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

For the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which will be held in Australia, Namibia has selected a 16-player squad with an emphasis on experience.

The team will be led by Gerhard Erasmus and will have a combination of young and experienced players. Many of the impressive players from the 2021 tournament have been retained, and Namibia will aim to replicate their performances in Australia as they did in the UAE.

In 2021, Namibia left a lasting impression on everyone by reaching the Super 12 stage of the tournament, getting out of a tough group in Round 1 that included Sri Lanka, Netherlands, and Ireland.

Many of the squad’s most key players from that historical performance have been retained, along with a few players who will be making their first debuts at the World Cup. Skipper Erasmus could rely on players like JJ Smit, Stephen Baard, Jan Frylinck, Nicol Loftie Eaton, Ruben Trumpelmann, and David Wiese, who were part of the 2021 team.

Additionally, Namibia has picked players who will be making their T20 World Cup debuts. In the team, wicketkeeper-batsman Lohan Louwrens, batsman Divan La Cock, and bowler Tangameni Lungameni will all make their tournament debuts.

Namibia will open their campaign for the 2022 tournament against Sri Lanka on October 16 at Kardinia Park in Geelong. They will play the Netherlands on the 18th and the UAE on the 20th at the same venue.

Namibia for T20 World Cup 2022

Gerhard Erasmus (c), JJ Smit, Divan la Cock, Stephen Baard, Nicol Loftie Eaton, Jan Frylinck, David Wiese, Ruben Trumpelmann, Zane Green, Bernard Scholtz, Tangeni Lungameni, Michael van Lingen, Ben Shikongo, Karl Birkenstock, Lohan Louwrens, Helao Ya France.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.