India Announces T20 World Cup Squad: Bumrah And Harshal Are Back

India’s 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 has been announced. Jasprit Bumrah is back on the Indian Team after recovering from an injury. Harshal Patel, who missed the Asia Cup due to a side injury, also returned to the squad.

They’ve also placed considerable trust in young Arshdeep Singh, who only made his India debut in July 2022 but has been picked ahead of Deepak Chahar and Mohammed Shami, who only find a place in the reserves.

Over the last few months, India has been investing significantly in super experts. Because of his outstanding performance as a death bowler in the Indian Premier League (IPL), Arshdeep deserves to be here.

A big chunk of the squad picked themselves, including the top four players Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, and Surya Yadav. Deepak Hooda’s ability to bowl a few overs of off-spin helped him earn a spot in the main squad over Shreyas Iyer, who was only selected for the standbys. 

Ravindra Jadeja’s knee injury may have also made it important for India to have Hooda. Axar Patel is now the team’s lead left-arm spinner, but it’s still not clear if that means he’ll get a spot in the India XI. When Jadeja got injured at the Asia Cup, the team management preferred Hooda’s batting abilities more than Axar’s.

On the other hand, Dinesh Karthik has forced the selectors to make his “dream come true” of playing for the national team by taking his game as a finisher to a new level. 

India’s spin attack will be led by Yuzvendra Chahal, who took the most wickets in the last IPL, alongside R Ashwin. Ravi Bishnoi is among the reserves. All teams have the option to make changes to their playing squads until the day of their first match in the T20 World Cup, which for India is on October 23.

In addition to Ravi Bishnoi and Shreyas Iyer, Pacer Mohammad Shami and Deepak Chahar have been named standby players for this tournament.

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby Players:

Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

India Squad for T20 World Cup 2022
Image Source: Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.