Afghanistan’s Squad For The T20 World Cup 2022: Nabi To Lead

Afghanistan has announced their 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup 2022, which begins on October 16 in Australia. Mohammad Nabi, who led Afghanistan during the recently concluded Asia Cup 2022, will be captaining the team again.

Samiullah Shinwari, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Karim Janat, and Noor Ahmad, all of whom were a part of the Asia Cup team, were not selected for the T20 World Cup.

On the other hand, middle-order batter Darwish Rasooli, all-rounder Qais Ahmad, and right-arm quick Salim Safi have been added to the squad.

Rasooli, who is 22 years old and made his international debut earlier this year, was selected after he recovered from a finger injury and performed well in the Shpageeza Cricket League 2022.

Qais Ahmed is back in the team. He last played a Twenty20 International (T20I) in March 2022 against Bangladesh. Safi, who is 20 years old, is getting his first international call-up.

Gulbadin Naib, Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Rahmat Shah have been named as travelling reserves.

Chief selector Noor Malikzai said, “The Asia Cup was a very good opportunity for the team to build up things nicely for the much-important global event in Australia.”

“Fortunately, Darwish Rasooli has recovered from injury (broken finger) and we are happy to have him available for the WT20. He has demonstrated good glimpses of himself in the previously held Shpageeza Cricket League 2022 and offers an additional batting option to our middle order.”

“Since the Australian conditions offer further support for the fast bowlers, we have added Salim Safi, the tall right-arm quick, to add further impetus to our bowling department. “Overall, we have picked our best available players for the event, and we are hopeful of them doing well and better representing the country in the mega-event.”

Afghanistan is in Group 1 of the T20 World Cup alongside hosts Australia, England, and New Zealand. Their first game is on October 22 against England in Perth.

Afghanistan T20 World Cup Squad 2022

Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Qais Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Salim Safi, Usman Ghani

Travelling Reserves:

Afsar Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Rahmat Shah, Gulbadin Naib

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.